Billi Bierling was born in the Bavarian town of Garmisch-Partenkirchen. Neither as a child nor as a teenager was she much interested in the mountains and always resisted vehemently when she had to go hiking with her parents at the weekend. However, when she moved to England as an assistant teacher at the age of 24, she started rock climbing in Scotland and northern England. In 1998, she travelled to Nepal for the first time, climbed some 6000m peaks and was immediately hooked by the country, the people and the high altitude mountaineering.

From then on, Billi spent at least one mountaineering season a year in Nepal, and when she wasn’t in the Himalayas, she travelled to South America or New Zealand to explore the mountains there. But because she had grown particularly fond of Nepal, she gave up her journalism career in Switzerland in 2004 and moved to Kathmandu. Once there, she knocked on the door of Himalayan archivist Miss Elizabeth Hawley and asked if she could help collect data. Miss Hawley, who had been collecting the information of all climbers on so-called ‘expedition peaks’ since the early 1960s, could well use her help and since then Bierling has been dashing through the streets of Kathmandu on her bicycle, interviewing male and female climbers before and after their expeditions. In 2016, Miss Hawley unofficially handed over the sceptre of the database to Billi. Together with Richard Salisbury, Jeevan Shrestra, Rodolphe Popier and Tobias Pantel, she tries to live up to the expectations of Miss Hawley, who passed away in January 2018 at the age of 94.

After years of interviewing Mount Everest climbers, she wanted to know for herself in 2009 and set out to reach the highest point on earth. She managed to do so, and Bierling was able to add her own name to the Everest climbers in Miss Hawley’s database. Since then, she has climbed five more 8000-metre peaks (Lhotse, Makalu, Manaslu, Cho Oyu and Broad Peak), three of them without bottled oxygen (Manaslu, Cho Oyu and Broad Peak).

When Bierling is not in the mountains, she works as a freelance journalist in Kathmandu or as a press officer for the United Nations, for which she worked in Jerusalem in 2008 and in Islamabad, Pakistan from 2009 to 2011. During the winter months, she works at the headquarters of Swiss Humanitarian Aid, for which she mostly does media work. Billi has also translated three books from German into English: Mountains in my heart by Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner, The Fall of Heaven by Reinhold Messner and Ueli Steck – my Life in Climbing.

Billi Bierling wurde im bayerischen Ort Garmisch-Partenkirchen geboren. Weder als Kind noch als Teenager interessierte sie sich groß für die Berge und wehrte sich immer vehement, wenn sie am Wochenende mit ihren Eltern zum wandern musste. Als sie jedoch im Alter von 24 Jahren als Assistentenlehrerin nach England zog, begann sie in Schottland und Nordengland mit der Felskletterei. 1998 reiste sie zum ersten Mal nach Nepal, bestieg dort einige 6000er und war sofort von Land, Leuten und der Höhenbergsteigerei begeistert.

Von diesem Zeitpunkt an verbrachte Billi mindestens eine Bergsteigersaison pro Jahr in Nepal, und wenn sie nicht im Himalaya war, reiste sie nach Südamerika oder Neuseeland, um dort die Berge zu erkunden. Da ihr aber Nepal besonders ans Herz gewachsen war, hängte sie 2004 ihre Journalistenkarriere in der Schweiz an den Nagel und zog nach Kathmandu. Dort angekommen, klopfte sie bei der Himalaja Archivarin Miss Elizabeth Hawley an und fragte, ob sie beim Sammeln der Daten behilflich sein könnte. Miss Hawley, die seit Anfang der 60er Jahre die Informationen aller Bergsteiger zu sogenannten ‚Expeditionsgipfeln’ gesammelt hatte, konnte ihre Hilfe gut gebrauchen und seitdem flitzt Bierling mit ihrem Fahrrad durch die Straßen Kathmandus und interviewt die Bergsteiger und Bergsteigerinnen vor und nach ihren Expeditionen. Im Jahr 2016 übergab Miss Hawley inoffiziell das Zepter der Datenbank an Billi übergeben. Gemeinsam mit Richard Salisbury, Jeevan Shrestra, Rodolphe Popier und Tobias Pantel versucht sie, den Erwartungen von Miss Hawley, die im Januar 2018 im Alter von 94 verstorben ist, gerecht zu werden.

Nachdem sie jahrelang Mount Everest Bergsteiger interviewt hatte, wollte sie es 2009 selbst wissen und zog los, um den höchsten Punkt der Erde zu erreichen. Das schaffte sie auch, und so konnte Bierling ihren eigenen Namen zu den Everest-Besteigern in Miss Hawley’s Datenbank hinzufügen. Seither hat sie fünf weitere 8000er bestiegen (Lhotse, Makalu, Manaslu, Cho Oyu und Broad Peak), drei davon ohne Flaschensauerstoff (Manaslu, Cho Oyu und Broad Peak).

Wenn Bierling nicht in den Bergen ist, arbeitet sie als freischaffende Journalistin in Kathmandu oder als Pressesprecherin für die Vereinten Nationen, für die sie 2008 in Jerusalem und von 2009 bis 2011 in Islamabad, Pakistan tätig war. Während der Wintermonate arbeitet sie in der Zentrale der Humanitären Hilfe der Schweiz, für die sie meist die Medienarbeiten übernimmt. Darüber hinaus hat Billi drei Bücher vom Deutschen ins Englische übersetzt: Mountains in my heart von Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner, The Fall of Heaven von Reinhold Messner und Ueli Steck – my Life in Climbing.